Wine Tasting Dinners

Wine Tasting Dinners2017-06-13T14:57:36+00:00

About GWG Wine Tasting Dinners

The best way to experience food and wine is together in both senses of the word. A perfect pairing of food and wine brings out the best in both, and the enjoyment of food and wine is amplified when you are together with fellow food and wine lovers!

Deluca Trattoria Rock Wal Wine Co

Deluca Trattoria wine dinner with Chef Gabriella Torelli and Rock Wall Wine Company owner Kent Rosenblum, standing between GWG hosts Bart and Peter.

For Gourmet Wine Getaways, this is the gold standard. We showcase wineries of all sizes, from the large famous ones you’ll immediately recognize to boutique wineries of a few thousand cases, still to be discovered.

We carefully match these wines with fresh inventive cuisine featured at some of our favorite restaurants throughout Greater Los Angeles. And to make it the best experience possible, we create a convivial atmosphere where friends and soon-to-be-friends can enjoy together the pleasures of the table.

If you’d like to join us at one of our wine tasting dinners, please visit our calendar to browse upcoming events.

The Wine Side

While the majority of our wine dinners feature four or five wines from a single winery carefully paired with gourmet cuisine, we occasionally mix in different formats, perhaps featuring a specific region, country or type of wine from several wineries.

Hugo Oliva & Peter Kerr at Tivoli Cafe

Tivoli Cafe Manager Hugo Oliva and GWG’s Peter Kerr create food and wine pairings for the Area 5.1 Winery wine dinner.

In either situation, guests will be able to order the featured wines at significantly discounted prices to stock their cellars and wine fridges. Overall the goal is to expose you to new wines, new tastes and perhaps a favorite new restaurant.

Many of our featured wineries are located in our own backyard in southern, central and northern California, but we also highlight wine producers in Washington, Oregon and a variety of foreign countries including Italy, Spain, France, Australia, New Zealand, Chile, Argentina, Germany and others. Wherever the winery is located, we strive to have someone intimately involved with the wine at our event – sometimes the owner, sometimes the winemaker.

The Food Side

Once we’ve chosen the winery, we carefully select a restaurant whose ambience and cuisine will best match the style of wine. GWG works closely with these talented chefs to create a one-of-a-kind menu that allows the wine and food to interact, creating a symphony for the taste buds.

Your Hosts

Each dinner is hosted by a vinous pair – GWG’s resident wine expert Peter Kerr and a guest from the featured winery. Together they reveal the human stories behind the wines– the personalities of the winemakers, the challenges of wine making, and the secrets of the terroir. Peter will also illuminate the art of wine and food pairing – the sensibility that underlies the food on your plate.

Bart, Peter, Lumen Winemaker Lane Tanner, Sam’s owner Samer Elias, Lumen owner Will Henry enjoy a moment before the Lumen Wines Winemaker Dinner at Sam’s.

Our experts are available throughout the event to chat and answer questions. Wine experts, wine novices and everyone in between will find GWG dinners to be unique, enjoyable and informative. And one thing is certain – you’ll never see those wine labels again without conjuring up the winemaker.

So if you love trying new restaurants and meeting interesting people in genial surroundings; if you want to broaden your wine knowledge and discover new wines; and if you’d like to count wine lovers and winemakers among your newest friends, Gourmet Wine Getaways events are for you! GWG holds these dinners throughout the year at gourmet restaurants in the Greater Los Angeles area so there is bound to be one in your neighborhood or close by.

Upcoming Wine Tasting Dinners

VIEW ALL UPCOMING EVENTS

Recent Wine Tasting Dinners

Dan Duckhorn would have been proud

Duckhorn Vineyards wines were featured at Chef Avi Kapoor's first wine dinner at his new DTLA venue. A sellout crowd enjoyed a reception bubbly and four amazing wines from this legendary vineyard. It was smiles all around and everyone wanted to know when the next wine dinner would be scheduled. Stay tuned- we will be back!

A Sunday Afternoon of Wine, Food and Sculpture in West LA

Sculptor Tanya Ragir's home gallery/workshop provided the perfect venue for a Sunday afternoon of great wine and gourmet appetizers. Winery owner Martin Brown showcased 5 excellent wines that were all well received. Happy Spatulas catering did the cooking and what an array of delights it was.

VIEW ALL RECENT EVENTS

Recently Featured Wineries

A sampling of the exceptional wineries featured at past wine tasting dinners. For the complete list see the FAQs below. Don’t see your favorite? Tell us about it and we’ll check them out.

Recently Featured Restaurants

A few of the wonderful restaurants we’ve chosen for previous dinners. For the complete list check out the FAQs below. If you know of a venue you’d like to see on this list, tell us about it!

Wine Tasting Dinners FAQ

Which restaurant venues has Gourmet Wine Getaways used for its wine dinners?2017-06-02T16:26:05+00:00

Akbar-MdR, Marina del Rey  http://akbarcuisineofindia.com/

Akbar-Pasadena, Pasadena   http://akbarcuisineofindia.com/

Barbianca, Marina del Rey   http://www.hotelmdr.com/barbianca-marina-del-rey-restaurants.php

Bergamot Café, Santa Monica  http://bergamotcafe.com/

Boccaccio’s, Westlake Village  http://boccacciosonthelake.com/

Café Pinot, Downtown LA  https://www.patinagroup.com/cafe-pinot

Chef Melba’s Bistro, Hermosa Beach  http://chefmelbasbistro.com/

Delius, Long Beach  http://deliusrestaurant.com/

Deluca Trattoria, El Segundo  http://delucapasta.com/

The Depot, Torrance  http://www.depotrestaurant.com/

Enzo & Angela’s, West LA  https://www.enzoandangela.com/

Il Forno Caldo, Beverly Hills  http://www.ilfornocaldomenu.com/

Kochi , Hermosa Beach  http://kochihermosabeach.com/

Lido Di Manhattan, Manhattan Beach  https://www.lidodimanhattan.com/

Modo Mio, Pacific Palisades  http://www.restaurantmodomio.com/

Nook, West LA  http://www.nookbistro.com/

Pedaler’s Fork, Calabasas  http://pedalersfork.com/

Sam’s by the Beach, Santa Monica  http://samsbythebeach.com/

Sausal, El Segundo  http://sausal.com/

Spumante, North Hollywood  http://www.spumanterestaurant.com/

Tin Roof Bistro, Manhattan Beach  http://www.tinroofbistro.com/

Tivoli Café, Pacific Palisades  http://www.tivolicafe.com/

Which wineries have been featured in past Gourmet Wine Getaways wine dinners?2017-06-02T12:31:44+00:00

Andrew Murray, Santa Barbara County  http://andrewmurrayvineyards.com/

Anglim Winery, Paso Robles  http://www.anglimwinery.com/anglimwinery.php

Area 5.1 Winery, Santa Barbara County  http://www.a51wine.com/

Beckmen Vineyards, Los Olivos  https://www.beckmenvineyards.com/

Bedford Winery, Santa Barbara County  http://bedfordwinery.com/

Belle Glos, Napa Valley  http://belleglos.com/

Buttonwood Winery, Solvang  http://www.buttonwoodwinery.com/

Calistoga Cellars, Napa Valley  http://triumphwinegroup.com/

Caymus Wines, Napa Valley  http://www.caymus.com/

Clautiere Vineyards, Paso Robles  http://www.clautiere.com/

Clayhouse Wines, Paso Robles  http://www.clayhousewines.com/

Cobblestone Vineyards, Paso Robles  http://www.cobblestonewine.com/

Clos Pepe, Lompoc  http://clospepe.com/

Corti dei Farfensi, Marche, Italy  http://www.lecortideifarfensi.it/

Costa de Oro, Santa Maria  https://www.cdowinery.com/

Davis Bynum, Sonoma  https://davisbynum.com/

Denner Winery, Paso Robles  http://www.dennervineyards.com/

Donalan Family Wines, Sonoma,  http://www.donelanwines.com/

Dragonette Cellars, Santa Ynez  http://dragonettecellars.com/

Falkner Winery, Temecula  http://www.falknerwinery.com/

Four Vines Winery, Paso Robles  http://fourvines.com/

Foxen Vineyard, Santa Maria  http://www.foxenvineyard.com/

Gordon Estate Wines, Columbia Valley, Washington  http://gordonwines.com/

Hartigan Cellars, Paso Robles  http://www.hartigancellars.com/

Ippolito Winery, Calabria, Italy  http://www.ippolito1845.it/

Wilkes Winery, Los Olivos http://jwilkes.com/

Kalleske Wines, Barossa Valley, Australia  http://kalleske.com/

Kalyra Winery, Santa Ynez  http://www.kalyrawinery.com/

Kistler Vineyards, Sonoma  http://www.kistlervineyards.com/

Kosta Browne, Sonoma  http://www.kistlervineyards.com/

Labyrinth Wines, Ventura  http://www.labyrinthwinery.com/

Laetitia Winery, Arroyo Grande  http://www.laetitiawine.com/

Lincourt Wines, Solvang  https://www.lincourtwines.com/

Longoria Wines, Lompoc  http://www.longoriawine.com/

Lumen Wines, Santa Maria  https://www.lincourtwines.com/

Mollydooker Wines, McLaren Vale, Australia  https://www.mollydookerwines.com/

McKeon-Phillips Winery, Santa Maria

Opolo Vineyards, Paso Robles  http://www.opolo.com/

Pali Wine Co., Lompoc  http://www.paliwineco.com/

Patz & Hall, Sonoma  https://www.patzhall.com/

Paul Hobbs Winery, Sebastopol  http://www.paulhobbswinery.com/

Robert Hall Winery, Paso Robles  http://www.roberthallwinery.com/

Rocca Family Vineyards, Napa  http://www.roccawines.com/

Rock Wall Wine Co., Alameda  http://www.rockwallwines.com/

Rosenblum Cellars, Alameda  https://www.rosenblumcellars.com/

Sea Smoke Cellars, Lompoc  https://www.seasmoke.com/

Shafer Vineyards, Napa  http://shafervineyards.com/index.php

Sinor-La Vallee Winery, San Luis Obispo  http://www.sinorlavallee.com/

Slyd Wines (formerly CODA Wines), Los Angeles  http://slydwines.com/

Stolpman Vineyards, Ballard Canyon  http://www.stolpmanvineyards.com/

Tyler Winery, Lompoc  http://tylerwinery.com/

Villa San- Juliette, San Miguel  http://www.villasanjuliette.com/

Waterbrook Winery, Walla Walla, WA  http://waterbrook.com/

White Rock Vineyards, Napa  http://whiterockvineyards.com/

What type of food is served?2017-05-10T13:52:04+00:00

Complete menu and details are posted in our Calendar. Simply click or tap any of the items listed by date to learn more.

Are these dinners for wine experts only?2017-05-10T13:50:31+00:00

All levels of wine expertise are welcome!

Do any special guests attend the dinners?2017-06-13T14:08:32+00:00

The winemaker or a representative from the winery normally attends the dinner.

How do I reserve my spot?2017-05-10T13:50:46+00:00

Reservations are made directly with the restaurant. Contact information for each venue is provided in the event details page of the specific event in our Calendar.

How much does it cost?2017-05-10T13:50:53+00:00

The price is listed in the event details page of the specific event in our Calendar. Rate is per person and always includes tax and gratuity.

How do I find out about upcoming dinners?2017-06-14T10:06:40+00:00

Wine dinner announcements and reminders are sent to members of our private email database. If you would like to be added to the list, provide your name and email address below then tap or click the Sign Me Up! button.

Who can attend?2017-05-10T13:51:08+00:00

Our public Wine Dinners are open to all people age 21 and over.

What Our Guests Are Saying

The best wine tasting I’ve ever attended.

Jim M.

Couldn’t have been better. Truly wonderful experience.

Hal C.

Wonderful food and wine, nice people, great to learn about a new winery.

Kathy F.

Thank you – as always – for a lovely evening plus my wine education.

Carlye P.

Gourmet Wine Getaways

The best wines are the ones we drink with friends. Join us!

Join our email list to stay in the know with event announcements (max 2 per month).

Join our email list to stay in the know with event announcements (max 2 per month).