Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ2017-06-12T16:42:40+00:00

General FAQ

Why does GWG want your email address?2017-05-10T14:12:32+00:00

The sole use of those emails is to announce or remind you about an upcoming public wine dinner or tasting event that we have either created or are participating in.  GWG treats every client’s email as if it were one of its owner’s emails.

You have trusted GWG with your email and we will do absolutely everything to continually earn that trust.  Our private email database will never be shared, sold or given to anyone! If at any time you no longer wish to receive emails from Gourmet Wine Getaways, simply click or tap the “unsubscribe from this list” link at the bottom of the email.

Wine Tasting Dinners FAQ

Which restaurant venues has Gourmet Wine Getaways used for its wine dinners?2017-06-02T16:26:05+00:00

Akbar-MdR, Marina del Rey  http://akbarcuisineofindia.com/

Akbar-Pasadena, Pasadena   http://akbarcuisineofindia.com/

Barbianca, Marina del Rey   http://www.hotelmdr.com/barbianca-marina-del-rey-restaurants.php

Bergamot Café, Santa Monica  http://bergamotcafe.com/

Boccaccio’s, Westlake Village  http://boccacciosonthelake.com/

Café Pinot, Downtown LA  https://www.patinagroup.com/cafe-pinot

Chef Melba’s Bistro, Hermosa Beach  http://chefmelbasbistro.com/

Delius, Long Beach  http://deliusrestaurant.com/

Deluca Trattoria, El Segundo  http://delucapasta.com/

The Depot, Torrance  http://www.depotrestaurant.com/

Enzo & Angela’s, West LA  https://www.enzoandangela.com/

Il Forno Caldo, Beverly Hills  http://www.ilfornocaldomenu.com/

Kochi , Hermosa Beach  http://kochihermosabeach.com/

Lido Di Manhattan, Manhattan Beach  https://www.lidodimanhattan.com/

Modo Mio, Pacific Palisades  http://www.restaurantmodomio.com/

Nook, West LA  http://www.nookbistro.com/

Pedaler’s Fork, Calabasas  http://pedalersfork.com/

Sam’s by the Beach, Santa Monica  http://samsbythebeach.com/

Sausal, El Segundo  http://sausal.com/

Spumante, North Hollywood  http://www.spumanterestaurant.com/

Tin Roof Bistro, Manhattan Beach  http://www.tinroofbistro.com/

Tivoli Café, Pacific Palisades  http://www.tivolicafe.com/

Which wineries have been featured in past Gourmet Wine Getaways wine dinners?2017-06-02T12:31:44+00:00

Andrew Murray, Santa Barbara County  http://andrewmurrayvineyards.com/

Anglim Winery, Paso Robles  http://www.anglimwinery.com/anglimwinery.php

Area 5.1 Winery, Santa Barbara County  http://www.a51wine.com/

Beckmen Vineyards, Los Olivos  https://www.beckmenvineyards.com/

Bedford Winery, Santa Barbara County  http://bedfordwinery.com/

Belle Glos, Napa Valley  http://belleglos.com/

Buttonwood Winery, Solvang  http://www.buttonwoodwinery.com/

Calistoga Cellars, Napa Valley  http://triumphwinegroup.com/

Caymus Wines, Napa Valley  http://www.caymus.com/

Clautiere Vineyards, Paso Robles  http://www.clautiere.com/

Clayhouse Wines, Paso Robles  http://www.clayhousewines.com/

Cobblestone Vineyards, Paso Robles  http://www.cobblestonewine.com/

Clos Pepe, Lompoc  http://clospepe.com/

Corti dei Farfensi, Marche, Italy  http://www.lecortideifarfensi.it/

Costa de Oro, Santa Maria  https://www.cdowinery.com/

Davis Bynum, Sonoma  https://davisbynum.com/

Denner Winery, Paso Robles  http://www.dennervineyards.com/

Donalan Family Wines, Sonoma,  http://www.donelanwines.com/

Dragonette Cellars, Santa Ynez  http://dragonettecellars.com/

Falkner Winery, Temecula  http://www.falknerwinery.com/

Four Vines Winery, Paso Robles  http://fourvines.com/

Foxen Vineyard, Santa Maria  http://www.foxenvineyard.com/

Gordon Estate Wines, Columbia Valley, Washington  http://gordonwines.com/

Hartigan Cellars, Paso Robles  http://www.hartigancellars.com/

Ippolito Winery, Calabria, Italy  http://www.ippolito1845.it/

Wilkes Winery, Los Olivos http://jwilkes.com/

Kalleske Wines, Barossa Valley, Australia  http://kalleske.com/

Kalyra Winery, Santa Ynez  http://www.kalyrawinery.com/

Kistler Vineyards, Sonoma  http://www.kistlervineyards.com/

Kosta Browne, Sonoma  http://www.kistlervineyards.com/

Labyrinth Wines, Ventura  http://www.labyrinthwinery.com/

Laetitia Winery, Arroyo Grande  http://www.laetitiawine.com/

Lincourt Wines, Solvang  https://www.lincourtwines.com/

Longoria Wines, Lompoc  http://www.longoriawine.com/

Lumen Wines, Santa Maria  https://www.lincourtwines.com/

Mollydooker Wines, McLaren Vale, Australia  https://www.mollydookerwines.com/

McKeon-Phillips Winery, Santa Maria

Opolo Vineyards, Paso Robles  http://www.opolo.com/

Pali Wine Co., Lompoc  http://www.paliwineco.com/

Patz & Hall, Sonoma  https://www.patzhall.com/

Paul Hobbs Winery, Sebastopol  http://www.paulhobbswinery.com/

Robert Hall Winery, Paso Robles  http://www.roberthallwinery.com/

Rocca Family Vineyards, Napa  http://www.roccawines.com/

Rock Wall Wine Co., Alameda  http://www.rockwallwines.com/

Rosenblum Cellars, Alameda  https://www.rosenblumcellars.com/

Sea Smoke Cellars, Lompoc  https://www.seasmoke.com/

Shafer Vineyards, Napa  http://shafervineyards.com/index.php

Sinor-La Vallee Winery, San Luis Obispo  http://www.sinorlavallee.com/

Slyd Wines (formerly CODA Wines), Los Angeles  http://slydwines.com/

Stolpman Vineyards, Ballard Canyon  http://www.stolpmanvineyards.com/

Tyler Winery, Lompoc  http://tylerwinery.com/

Villa San- Juliette, San Miguel  http://www.villasanjuliette.com/

Waterbrook Winery, Walla Walla, WA  http://waterbrook.com/

White Rock Vineyards, Napa  http://whiterockvineyards.com/

What type of food is served?2017-05-10T13:52:04+00:00

Complete menu and details are posted in our Calendar. Simply click or tap any of the items listed by date to learn more.

Are these dinners for wine experts only?2017-05-10T13:50:31+00:00

All levels of wine expertise are welcome!

Do any special guests attend the dinners?2017-06-13T14:08:32+00:00

The winemaker or a representative from the winery normally attends the dinner.

How do I reserve my spot?2017-05-10T13:50:46+00:00

Reservations are made directly with the restaurant. Contact information for each venue is provided in the event details page of the specific event in our Calendar.

How much does it cost?2017-05-10T13:50:53+00:00

The price is listed in the event details page of the specific event in our Calendar. Rate is per person and always includes tax and gratuity.

How do I find out about upcoming dinners?2017-06-14T10:06:40+00:00

Wine dinner announcements and reminders are sent to members of our private email database. If you would like to be added to the list, provide your name and email address below then tap or click the Sign Me Up! button.

Who can attend?2017-05-10T13:51:08+00:00

Our public Wine Dinners are open to all people age 21 and over.

Private Wine Events FAQ

Where might I have a private wine tasting dinner?2017-06-02T13:15:32+00:00

Akbar-MdR, Marina del Rey  http://akbarcuisineofindia.com/

Akbar-Pasadena, Pasadena   http://akbarcuisineofindia.com/

Barbianca, Marina del Rey   http://www.hotelmdr.com/barbianca-marina-del-rey-restaurants.php

Bergamot Café, Santa Monica  http://bergamotcafe.com/

Boccaccio’s, Westlake Village  http://boccacciosonthelake.com/

Café Pinot, Downtown LA  https://www.patinagroup.com/cafe-pinot

Chef Melba’s Bistro, Hermosa Beach  http://chefmelbasbistro.com/

Delius, Long Beach  http://deliusrestaurant.com/

Deluca Trattoria, El Segundo  http://delucapasta.com/

The Depot, Torrance  http://www.depotrestaurant.com/

Enzo & Angela’s, West LA  https://www.enzoandangela.com/

Il Forno Caldo, Beverly Hills  http://www.ilfornocaldomenu.com/

Kochi , Hermosa Beach  http://kochihermosabeach.com/

Lido Di Manhattan, Manhattan Beach  https://www.lidodimanhattan.com/

Modo Mio, Pacific Palisades  http://www.restaurantmodomio.com/

Nook, West LA  http://www.nookbistro.com/

Pedaler’s Fork, Calabasas  http://pedalersfork.com/

Sam’s by the Beach, Santa Monica  http://samsbythebeach.com/

Sausal, El Segundo  http://sausal.com/

Spumante, North Hollywood  http://www.spumanterestaurant.com/

Tin Roof Bistro, Manhattan Beach  http://www.tinroofbistro.com/

Tivoli Café, Pacific Palisades  http://www.tivolicafe.com/

What is the smallest number for a private wine tasting dinner or wine/appetizer event?2017-05-10T14:14:20+00:00

Private wine dinners can be as small as 10 guests or as large as 250 guests. The smaller size events are normally done in private homes or at an art gallery. Wine dinners at a restaurant or a wine/appetizer event at a private home, business office or art gallery require a minimum of 30 guests.

Can I have a private wine dinner or wine/appetizer event on any night of the week?2017-05-10T14:15:49+00:00

The event can be any night of the week or even a weekday afternoon. The specific venue will normally dictate the availability. If you are flexible regarding venue, GWG can normally accommodate your day of the week request.

What is the difference between a private wine tasting dinner and a wine/appetizer event?2017-06-13T14:59:45+00:00

Wine Tasting dinners are normally at a restaurant and are conducted in a sit-down format (after a welcome reception). The dinner is normally 4 courses and guests remain in their seats throughout the meal. A winemaker or special guest from the winery attends. Each food course is paired with a different wine.

Wine/appetizer events are normally held at private homes, business offices or art galleries. The format is stand-up and circulate with  tables/chairs. Appetizers (either plated or passed) are provided throughout the event and all of the featured wines are available to taste throughout the event. Thus, it is less structured and allows for mingling and networking. A winemaker or winery guest can be in attendance or GWG’s Peter Kerr can conduct the event solo. With Peter hosting the event alone, this allows the wines to come from more than one winery and be a part of a chosen wine theme (California PNO’s vs. Oregon PNO’s).

How far in advance do I need to reserve for private wine event?2017-05-10T14:19:18+00:00

In general, the more time to plan, the easier it is. Events at public venues such as restaurants or art galleries require a minimum of 60 days but starting to plan further out is even better and helps to ensure a successful event.

Private Wine Tasting Trips FAQ

What are my options regarding a private wine tasting trip?2017-05-10T14:20:42+00:00

Wine tasting trips can be 1-day, a long weekend or even longer if desired. 1-day trips are by deluxe motor coach to Santa Barbara County Wine Country. Long weekend trips are either to Santa Barbara County or Paso Robles Wine Country. In this case, the guests drive to the wine region in their own cars and then GWG provides a motor coach during the wine tasting weekend.

Who selects the wineries to be visited on the wine tasting trips?2017-05-10T14:22:15+00:00

GWG normally selects the wineries but if you have a special winery that you wish to visit, GWG will do its best to include it.

What is the extra benefit of using GWG to plan and create the wine trip?2017-05-10T14:23:59+00:00

GWG’s 20+ years of taking guests wine tasting has allowed us to develop excellent working relationships with a number of excellent wineries. These relationships translate into a unique experience for our guests at the wineries we visit. Special behind the scenes elements are a part of the visit and tastings include “off menu” wines.

What is the smallest group size for a wine tasting trip?2017-05-10T14:25:04+00:00

For a 1-day trip, the minimum is 20 guests while the maximum is 45. For a long weekend trip, minimum is 10 guests with a maximum of 45

Gourmet Wine Getaways

The best wines are the ones we drink with friends. Join us!

Join our email list to stay in the know with event announcements (max 2 per month).

Join our email list to stay in the know with event announcements (max 2 per month).